Djezzy now licensed to provide 4G/LTE services in Algeria

VimpelCom and Global Telecom Holding have announced that Djezzy, their market-leading subsidiary in Algeria, has been awarded one of three licenses to provide 4G/LTE services in the country.

“We are proud that Djezzy has been granted the license to provide high-speed 4G/LTE services to our customers in Algeria and we look forward to the rollout in the summer of 2016. Algeria is a key market for VimpelCom and GTH and we are pleased to play a role in the further development of the country’s digital economy,” said Jon Eddy, VimpelCom Head of Emerging Markets and Chairman of GTH.

“VimpelCom has extensive expertise in the 4G/LTE field following its rollout in other VimpelCom markets such as Italy and Russia and we look forward to carrying this experience through to the Algerian market,” Jon added.

Vincenzo Nesci, Executive Chairman of Djezzy and CEO of GTH, said: “This is an excellent opportunity for Djezzy, as the leading operator in Algeria, to spearhead the development and implementation of such sophisticated technology in Algeria. It will facilitate further digital inclusion for our 17 million customers with the launch of new services and offers.”

“The 4G/LTE license is another example of Djezzy’s successful partnership with the Algerian Fonds National d’Investissement (FNI). We thank the Minister of Post and Information and Communication Technologies of Algeria for having concluded the process so swiftly and for opening the door to further development of Algeria’s digital economy,” Vincenzo added.

Djezzy has the largest network in Algeria with the widest coverage and is investing significantly to upgrade its networks further. This includes modernizing 2G services and completing the full deployment of 3G in all 48 of Algeria’s provinces by the end of 2016.

VimpelCom is an international communications and technology company, headquartered in Amsterdam and offers services to customers in 14 markets including Russia, Italy, Algeria, Pakistan, Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, Bangladesh, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Armenia, Georgia, Laos, and Zimbabwe.

Leave a Reply

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.