ISACA launches COBIT 5 Certified Assessor programme

An IT expert at workAssessing the performance and efficiency of an IT environment is a cornerstone of effective governance and management of information. Because doing it well is every bit as complex as the IT environment itself, ensuring that an assessor has the appropriate skills, expertise and training is key to having confidence in the results.

To provide an objective and reliable global benchmark for assessors, ISACA has developed the new COBIT 5 Certified Assessor Program which gives enterprises a way to have confidence that IT process assessments are performed by well-trained and qualified professionals. When an organization engages a COBIT 5 certified assessor, it knows that person has demonstrated the knowledge, experience and skill to do an accurate and thorough job. The program also helps assessors differentiate themselves and build credibility with clients and employers.

COBIT 5 is the business framework for the governance and management of enterprise IT. To acknowledge COBIT 5 expertise and meet the global demand for COBIT 5 training, ISACA, a nonprofit association of 110,000 IT professionals in 180 countries, is offering the COBIT 5 Assessor Program credential and course, and the COBIT 5 Foundation and Implementation courses.

The COBIT 5 Certified Assessor Program recognizes professionals who have skills to perform COBIT-based IT process assessments and have experience in planning, building, running and/or monitoring IT processes. The assessments provided by COBIT 5 Certified Assessors help IT leaders gain C-level and board member buy-in for change and improvement initiatives.

COBIT 5 Certified Assessor requirements include:

  • Completing the COBIT 5 Assessor Course
  • Passing the COBIT 5 Foundation and Assessor exams
  • Proving five or more years of work experience performing process-based activities
  • Agreeing to abide by the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics 

ISACA’s new COBIT 5 Assessor Course provides a basis for assessing an enterprise’s IT process capabilities against the COBIT 5 Process Assessment Model (PAM). The model is evidence-based to enable a reliable, consistent and repeatable way to assess IT process capabilities.

ISACA also launched the COBIT 5 Implementation Course, which shows how to use COBIT 5 for specific business problems and risk scenarios. The course includes practical exercises and case-based scenarios for using COBIT 5 to govern and manage enterprise IT as normal business practice. The prerequisite to the course is successful completion of the COBIT 5 Foundation Exam.

COBIT 5 training and exams are available through ISACA’s training programs, a global network of accredited training organizations (ATOs) and accredited individual trainers, which have met rigorous assessment standards. Trainers and ATOs are approved, accredited and licensed by APMG, the global exam institute that helped ISACA develop the courses in the program, to deliver COBIT 5 training and exam services.

Additional information on COBIT training, including a list of trainers, and ISACA’s COBIT licensee program, is available at this link.

Launched in April 2012, COBIT 5 helps enterprises maximize the value of their information, which has become the currency of the 21st century. COBIT has been used by enterprises around the world to improve information management and governance. COBIT 5 provides globally accepted principles, practices, analytical tools and models designed to help business and IT leaders maximize trust in, and value from, their enterprise’s information and technology. The COBIT 5 framework is available as a free download from here.




Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.