Kenya’s nominees to MultiChoice African Journalist contest in South Africa ahead of Saturday October 12 winners’ announcement

CNNKenya’s 7 nominees to the CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2013 Competition are in Cape Town, South Africa ahead of the announcement on Saturday October 12.

The nominees are NTV’s Roseline Wangui & Wambui Kurema, Citizen’s Judy Jeptum Kosgei & Mauritius Oduor while The Star has Brenda Okoth. Florence Dallu and Thomas Otieno Bwire will be representing Koch FM and Pamoja FM respectively.

“Kenyan scribes have consistently excelled at the awards and it is given that this year will be no exception as East Africa leads the pack with 30% of the overall nominees who are gatheres in Cape Town to celebrate the best talent, skills and experience that Africa’s media has to offer,” said Multichoice East Africa regional director, Stephen Isaboke while wishing them success.

The 2013 competition received entries from 42 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa. There are 27 finalists from 11 countries.

Below is the complete list:  



Media Outlet



Gifty Andoh Appiah,   Joy News TV   Ghana
Rebekah Awuah,   GBC 24   Ghana
Domingos Bento   Seminário Novo Jornal   Angola
Thomas Otieno Bwire   Pamoja FM, (Community-based radio station in Kibera)   Kenya


Axcel Micael Chenney   Le Défi Média Group   Mauritius
Florence Dallu   Freelance for Koch FM   Kenya
Nicola de Chaud   Freelance for Carte Blanche   South Africa
Adrian de Kock   The Star   South Africa
Ibrahima-Benjamin Diagne   Radio Futurs Médias (RFM)   Senegal
Msindisi Fengu & Yandisa Monakali   Daily Dispatch   South Africa
Selma Inocência   Rede de Comunicação Miramar   Mozambique
Geoff Iyatse   The Guardian   Nigeria
Thanduxolo Jika & Media 24 Investigations Team   Media 24


  South Africa
Judy Jeptum Kosgei & Mauritius Oduor   Citizen TV


Lucas Ledwaba   City Press   South Africa
Lázaro Mabunda   O País   Mozambique
Carol Natukunda   New Vision   Uganda
Amon Ngabo   Uganda Broadcasting Corporation   Uganda
Tolu Ogunlesi   Freelance for Ventures Africa   Nigeria
Oluwatoyosi Ogunseye   Sunday Punch   Nigeria
Brenda Okoth   The Star   Kenya
Nassima Oulebsir   El Watan   Algeria
Roseline Wangui & Wambui Kurema   NTV   Kenya


Passant Rabie   Egypt Today   Egypt

The host for the evening is Isha Sesay, host of CNN International’s ‘NewsCenter’.

The judging panel, chaired by Ferial Haffajee, Editor-in-Chief, City Press, South Africa includes:

Debo Adesina, Editor-in-Chief, The Guardian Newspaper, Nigeria;

Betty Dindi, Managing Editor, Nation Media Group, Kenya;

Jean-Paul Gérouard, Editor-in-Chief, France Télévisions ;

Anton Harber, Professor of journalism & media studies, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa;

Joel Kibazo, Journalist and Media Consultant;

Arlindo Lopes, General Manager, Regulatory and Corporate, Angola and Mozambique, MultiChoice Africa Ltd;

Arlindo Macedo, Journalist Rádio Nacional de Angola, (RNA);

Amadou Mahtar Ba, CEO, African Media Initiative

Kim Norgaard, CNN Bureau Chief, South Africa

Nico Meyer, CEO of MultiChoice Africa said: ”MultiChoice Africa is especially proud to once again partner with CNN in hosting these prestigious Awards. We believe that these awards play a key role in encouraging excellence in media while sharing the great stories of the continent. Congratulations to the finalists of 2013, we look forward to hosting you in Cape Town in October to celebrate the best journalism Africa has to offer.”

Entries were published or broadcast in 2012 for the following awards:

Culture Award; The Coca-Cola Company Economics and Business Award; Digital Platform Award; Environment Award; Free Press Africa Award; Mohamed Amin Photographic Award; MSD Health & Medical Award; Print General News Award; Radio General News Award; Sport Award; Television Features Award; Television News Bulletin Award; Francophone General News Awards; Portuguese Language General News Award


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.