M-Farm’s Jamilla Abass among nominees for New African Woman Awards 2016


Kenya’s Jamila Abass, who is the CEO and co-founder of the M-Farm platform, is among the nominees for the New African Woman Awards 2016.

Jamila, who’s M-Farm helps connect farmers with buyers around their locality for quick sales, has been nominated in the New African Woman Awards ‘Science, Technology & Innovation’ category.

(TOP: Jamila Abass, CEO, M-Farm)

Currently in it first edition, the awards seek to honour extraordinary women who have made significant achievements in their countries and communities and given across 11 categories: Business; Politics and Public Office; Education; Science, Technology and Innovation; Finance and Banking; Media; Sport; Arts and Culture; Civil Society; Rising Star; and New African Woman of the Year.

Apart from Kenya’s Jamilla, other nominees in the Science, Technology & Innovation’ category are Chinwe Ohajuruka (Nigeria), Habiba Bouhamed Chaabouni (Tunisia), Sara Menker (Ethiopia), Thérèse Izay Kirongozi (DR Congo) and Winnifred Selby (Ghana).

Below is the list of the nominees and the respective categories:

* Clare Akamanzi (Rwanda)
* Marie Diongoye Konaté (Ivory Coast)
* Olajumoke Adenowo (Nigeria)
* Salwa Idrissi Akhannouch (Morocco)
* Sibongile Sambo (South Africa)
* Swaady Martin (Ivory Coast)

* Ameenah Gurib-Fakim (Mauritius)
* Amina J. Mohammed (Nigeria)
* Bineta Diop (Senegal)
* Fatima Haram Acyl (Chad)
* Jeanine Mabunda Lioko Mudiayi (DR Congo)
* Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (South Africa)
* Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka (South Africa)

* Bruktawit Tigabu (Ethiopia)
* Elizabeth Akua-Nyarko Patterson (Ghana)
* Maureen Maisha Auma (Kenya)
* Naadiya Moosajee (South Africa)
* Noella Coursaris Musunka (DR Congo)
* Wanjiru Kamau-Rutenberg (Kenya)

* Arunma Oteh (Nigeria)
* Hela Cheikhrouhou (Tunisia)
* Najwa El Iraki (Morocco)
* Omokehinde Ojomuyide (Nigeria)
* Sipho S. Moyo (Zimbabwe)
* Viola Llewellyn (Cameroon)
* Viviane Bakayoko (DR Congo)

* Dounia Ben Mohamed (Tunisia)
* Eloïne Barry (Guinea)
* Lerato Mbele (South Africa)
* Mo Abudu (Nigeria)
* Mona Eltahawy (Egypt)
* Yvonne Ndege (Kenya) SPORT
* Almaz Ayana (Ethiopia)
* Blessing Okagbare (Nigeria)
* Cathy Phiri (Zambia)
* Genzebe Dibaba Keneni (Ethiopia)
* Habiba Ghribi (Tunisia)
* Neku Atawodi (Nigeria)

* Amma Asante (Ghana)
* Bibi Bakare-Yusuf (Nigeria)
* Bisi Silva (Nigeria)
* Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (Nigeria)
* Ellah Wakatama-Allfrey (Zimbabwe)
* Nike Davies-Okundaye (Nigeria)
* Uzo Aduba (Nigeria)

* Aisha Muhammed-Oyebode (Nigeria)
* Debbie Ariyo (Nigeria)
* Elizabeth Nyamayaro (Zimbabwe)
* Kaleba Ngoie Kasongo (DR Congo)
* Leyla Hussein and Nimco Ali (Somalia)
* Obiageli Ezekwesili (Nigeria)
* Toyin Saraki (Nigeria)
* Zainab Hawa Bangura (Sierra Leone)

* Amy Jadesimi (Nigeria)
* Anne Kansiime (Uganda)
* Hannah Wanjie Ryder (Kenya)
* NoViolet Bulawayo (Zimbabwe)
* Vivian Onano (Kenya)
* Zuriel Oduwole (Nigeria)

The awards’ shortlist recognises over 60 remarkable women who have made significant contributions in their respective fields. The winners, as voted by New African Woman magazine’s readers, will be announced during the Awards ceremony on Thursday, March 10, 2016 in London.

The inaugural New African Forum and awards will take place in London two days after the International Women’s Day (IWD), held this year under the theme: “Planet 50-50 by 2030: Step It Up for Gender Equality”.

Leila Ben Hassen, chair of the NAWF judging panel said that the global theme for IWD is a call to action for parity to close the gender gap, which is squarely aligned with the NAW Forum theme, designed to celebrate women’s leadership and excellence on the continent.

“The New African Woman Forum brings together over 150 leaders from business, academia and civil society, as well as key decision makers from the public and private sector. It will also offer a unique platform to meet, network and share the success stories, experiences and challenges of the African Women who are changing the game on the continent. My co-judges and I look forward to discovering more about these incredible women of Africa and selecting this year’s winners”, she said.

The judging panel comprises Leila Ben Hassen, General Manager, IC Publications; reGina Jane Jere, Editor New African Woman; Onike Nicol-Houra, Principal Business Development Officer at African Development Bank; Amadou Mahtar Ba, Co-Founder and Executive Chairman AllAfrica Global Media and Member of UN Secretary-General’s High Level Panel on Women’s Economic Empowerment; and Dr Nkosana Moyo, Executive Chairman for the Mandela Institute for Development Studies (MINDS).

The event is expected to draw over 150 high profile, respected decision-making women who will discuss and examine key issues pertaining to the status of women across the continent, and come up with a comprehensive plan of action to present as a contribution towards the African Union’s Agenda 2063 vision. The Forum will conclude with an Awards gala ceremony to recognise and celebrate women achievers and excellence on the continent and in its diaspora.

(Visited 34 times, 1 visits today)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.