World Bank announces East Africa winners of 2016 #Blog4Dev contest

The World Bank recently announced the winners of its 2016 edition of the #Blog4Dev contest from the 1,300 applications submitted by entrants from Kenya, Uganda and Rwanda.

The youth drawn from the three countries – aged between 18 to 28 years – were invited to participate in the contest by writing a 500-word essay on “how you would create a brighter future for youth in your home country” and submitting the story for consideration via the #Blog4Dev portal.

After sifting through the applications, the judging panel picked out five writers. These are Mercy Anyango Okoth and Jeremiah Kerongo Riro (from Kenya) Fiona Komusana and Stephen Katende (from Uganda) and Ms Dominique Uwase Alonga (from Rwanda).

The 5 winners are expected to join the World Bank country managers from the three respective countries at the 2016 Spring Meetings on April 12-17, 2016, in Washington, D.C.

To choose the winners, the blogs were reviewed by a number of World Bank staff who narrowed down an average of 10 finalists who were interviewed last month. They won in part because we were impressed by their blog posts, but also because they would bring an unusual perspective and passion to the trip.

Their winning blogs will be uploaded onto the World Bank Group blog site Nasikiliza from April 2016.

The winners will also be invited by their respective country offices for a conversation thereafter.

Below is a brief about each of the #Blog4Dev winners:


  • Mercy Anyango Okoth, 19, is a third year Student of Strathmore University who is passionate about finance. Read her blog | See her video
  • Jeremy Kerongo Riro, 25, is a Bachelor of Commerce graduate of University of Nairobi, and a business consultant supporting start-ups and growth stage businesses. Read his blog | See his video


  • Fiona Komusana, 25, is a third year Law student at Mukono University, and an experienced blogger who writes about current affairs. Read her blog | See her video
  • Stephen Katende, 25, works in a rural Lwengo District, and is currently a fellow with ‘Building Tomorrow’s Youth,’ a program that creates incubation centers in various districts in Uganda. Read his blog | See his video


Other #Blog4Dev finalists were Kenya (Susan Mungai; Hosea Chelugo, Samuel Karanja; Stephen Mwangi and Kelvin Githinji), Uganda (Namugga K. Rutwama; Ronald Nyakahuma and Namwiza Ritah) and Rwanda (Christian Rubagenga, Joselyne K. Uwayo, Francis Mugume and Twagirayezu Asumani).


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.