Nairobi Water’s payment portal, Jisomee Mita, nominated for African Utility Week Industry Awards

This year’s African Utility Week Industry Awards are set to be held in Cape Town, South Africa on May 17 to recognize and celebrate exceptional energy and water professionals.

Huawei, the China-based global ICT firm, is the lead sponsor for the African Utility Week Industry Awards, the fourth edition of the annual awards which will honour pioneering utilities, projects and people in the energy and water industry on the continent. 

To reflect the evolution of the energy and water sectors, the following new categories have been added this year: Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project (under 5MW); Innovative Technology of the Year; and Deal of the Year.

Below is the list of nominees in the various categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award
– Azeb Asnake, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia
– Barry MacColl, GM: Research, Testing & Development, Eskom, South Africa
– Dale Robertson, President, Enerscan Consultants, Canada
– Des Muller, Chairman, NIASA Supply Chain Development Sub-Committee, South Africa
– Dr Elham Mahmood Ahmed Ibrahim, Commissioner for Infrastructure & Energy, AU Commission, Ethiopia
– Fred Kabagambe-Kaliisa, PS, Ministry of Energy & Mineral Development, Uganda
– Grania Rosette Rubomboras, Programme Officer: Power Projects, Nile Basin Initiative NELSAP, Rwanda/Uganda
– Helen Tarnoy, Co-Founder & MD, Aldwych International Ltd, UK
– Oladele Amoda, MD & CEO, Eko Electricity Distribution, Nigeria
– Wim Jonker Klunne, Programme Director: Energy & Environment Partnership Programme, Southern and East Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Power
– Akon, Founder, Akon Lighting Africa, Various Countries
– Charlotte Aubin-Kalaidjian, Founding Partner, GreenWish Partners, France, Senegal, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria
– Hendrik Schloemann, Founder & CEO, Zonke Energy, South Africa
– Lovemore Chilimanzi, Technical Director, Africa GreenCo, South Africa
– Michael Gratwicke, Head of Energy, Rift Valley Energy, Tanzania & Zimbabwe
– Sicelo Goodwill Xulu, MD, City Power, South Africa

Outstanding Contribution Award: Water
– Chris Heymans, Senior Water & Sanitation Specialist, World Bank Water and Sanitation Programme, Kenya
– Joyce Msiru, CEO, Moshi Urban Water Supply and Sanitation Authority, Tanzania
– Philip Gichuki, MD, Nairobi City Water and Sewerage Company, Kenya
– Silver Mugisha, MD, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
– Yolandi Schoeman, MD, Baoberry, South Africa

Outstanding Woman of the Year: Power/Water
– Agatha Nnaji, MD, Geometric Power, Nigeria
– Azeb Asnake, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia
– Chantelle Abdul, CEO, MOJEC Meter Company & MOJEC Power, Nigeria
– Eunice Ntobedzi, Innovator, EmPowered, Botswana
– Rethabile Melamu, GM, Green Economy, South Africa
– Rose Kaggwa, Director: Business and Scientific Services, National Water and Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
– Sandisiwe Ncemane, Manager: Business Development – Energy Projects, Coega Development Corporation, South Africa
– Subha Nagarajan, MD, OPIC, Côte d’Ivoire

Young Energy Leader Award
– Astria Fataki, President, Energy Development, France/Togo
– Beatrice Muthoni, Renewable Energy Consultant, KTDA Power Company, Kenya
– Faith Chege, East African Regional Associate, Factor[e] Ventures, Kenya
– Fatima Oyiza Ademoh, Founder & CEO, Ajima Youth Empowerment Foundation, Nigeria
– Paseka Lesolang, Founder, Water Hygiene Convenience, South Africa
– Samir Ibrahim, CEO & Co-Founder, SunCulture, Kenya

Power Utility of the Year
– Ethiopian Electric Power, Ethiopia
– Geothermal Development Company, Kenya
– KenGen, Kenya
– Rwanda Energy Group, Rwanda

Water Utility of the Year
– Lilongwe Water Board, Malawi
– Nairobi City Water & Sewerage Company, Kenya
– National Water & Sewerage Corporation, Uganda
– ONEA, Burkina Faso

Large Scale Renewable Energy Project
– Bokpoort CSP Power Plant, ACWA Power, South Africa
– Gilgel Gibe III, Ethiopia
– NOORo, Morocco
– Senergy 2 solar PV plant, GreenWish Partners, Senegal
– Solar Capital De Aar 3 PV project, Phelan Energy Group, South Africa

Small-Scale Sustainable Energy Project
– Off-Grid Pay-as-you-go Solar Home Systems, Mobisol, East Africa
– Kwa Mtoro, E.ON Off-Grid Solutions GmbH / Rafiki Power, Tanzania
– Mwenga Hydro Ltd, Rift Valley Energy, Tanzania
Azuri Technologies‘s PayGo Solar Home Systems, Kenya
– Solar Turtle, South Africa
– Stortemelk Hydro, Renewable Energy Holdings, South Africa

Innovative Technology of the Year
– Asset Management Framework, Globeleq South Africa Management Services, South Africa
– Gou Tou Prepayment Project, Umeme Limited, Uganda
– Ikeja Smart Metering Project, Ikeja Electricity Distribution Company, Nigeria
Jisomee Mita, Nairobi City Water & Sewerage Company (NCWSC), Kenya
– Solar Turtle, South Africa

Deal of the Year
– 100MW Kathu Solar Park project, Engie, South Africa
– Innovative Solar Systems, Lumos Global, Nigeria
– Lubilia Kawembe Hydro Ltd, FMO, Netherlands
– Senergy 2 solar PV plant, GreenWish Partners, Senegal
– ZESCO New Electricity Connections, Standard Chartered Bank/USAID, Zambia

The African Utility Week takes place from 16-18 May 2017 at the CTICC in Cape Town, gathering over 7000 decision makers in the power and water sectors from more than 40 countries to source the latest solutions and meet over 300 suppliers. The expo will feature free to attend technical workshops and technology demonstrations. The event has won the Association of African Exhibition Organisers (AAXO) award for the Best Trade Exhibition 6001-12000 sqm category.

Part of the event is Energy Revolution Africa, a new platform for community scale projects, which will provide a unique forum for solution providers to meet with the new energy purchasers such as metros and municipalities, IPPs, rural electrification project developers and large power users, including mines, commercial property developers and industrial manufacturers.

(Visited 38 times, 1 visits today)


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.