Cisco CCENT 100-105 Exam: All you need to know about this certification

If you are considering a career in IT, getting a Cisco certification is a step in the right direction. The CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) credential is the start off point for a successful career in networking. With the CCENT, you can be confident of having all it takes to install, manage, and troubleshoot both basic network security and a small enterprise branch network.

The CCENT 100-105 is the first prerequisite for getting a certification in CCNA, and it will definitely make you stand out among your peers in entry-level job positions. There is no prerequisite for acquiring this certification.This is because it is the first entry level certification of Cisco (their switching and routing certification) that you can get.

All you need is to be trained and sit for the exams. The recommended training for this certification is Interconnecting Cisco Networking Device Part 1 (ICND1) and the exam you need to sit for is 100-105 ICND1.

The CCENT covers numerous foundational topics that will help you in understanding the basics of networking. This foundation is needed before you can aspire to get the more advanced Cisco certifications.Really, you cannot learn the advanced functionality of the Cisco certifications if you do not understand the basics. As earlier mentioned, the CCENT is your first step towards starting a career in the IT field.

Possible Positions you can get with CCENT

When you get the CCENT 100-105 certification, you can easily get technical support roles in an organization. You can be assigned home office, and small office technical supports. Offices that have one switch or one router, or a few devices will be your focus at this career point. As you continue to grow in experience and acquire more certifications, you move ahead to large enterprise networks. It is important to note that the level of your Cisco certifications has a lot to do with the number of devices or router you work with. For instance, if you visit Cisco website, you will discover that all the certifications offered by Cisco are arranged in a pyramid form. The implication of this is that you have to build on your certification. At the base of the pyramid is the CCENT. After you get the CCENT certification, you can move upward to acquire more certifications.

Another important thing to note is that if you have been working with Cisco equipment before deciding to get a certification, you can actually skip the CCENT100-105 and move on to the CCNA certification. This is because you already have some basic knowledge about Cisco. Professionals who have already had the CompTIA credential can also skip the CCENT because many of the topics on this Cisco certification have been covered under CompTIA. Also note that if you are going straight for the CCNA, you will be taking a composite examination made up of both levels. If you are just starting out in your career with Cisco, it is advisable that you take the CCENT 100-105 before takingtheCCNA certificate. This is to enable you understand the scope and basics of Cisco networking services.

What to Expect from CCENT Examination

TheCisco CCENT examination covers different topics and majority of them revolve around how to work with a Cisco router or Cisco switch. That it, how to take the brand new device out of the box, configure it, and fix it in a small network area. The CCENT exam is just one exam, one certification. It is popularly called ICND1 or 100-101 exams. Note that the ICND1 means Interconnecting Cisco Network Devices, and it is the official Cisco name for the course. Actually, ICND is the training course. After taking the course, you sit for the 100-101 examination. After passing the examinations, you earn your CCENT certification.

There are many Cisco partners that offer the certification to students from all over the world. If you want, you can also take the course through Cisco directly. If you are ready to take the CCENT exam, you can sign up for it through Pearson Vue. This is the company that administer all Cisco certificatsion examinations. After signing up on the website, browse through to know the test center that is close to your location. Pearson Vue has numerous partners all over the world that help in the administration of the exams. As soon as you pass the exam, you will receive the Prepaway CCENT certification and you can progress to the next level of certification.

Details of CCENT Examination

The CCENT exam is made up of 40 to 45 questions. The questions are combinations of multiple choice questions; choose all that apply; drag and drop; simulations questions, and multi-answer questions. Some of the questions have simulated switch or router which will require that you troubleshoot or configure some things. The time allowance for the exam is 90 minutes. Some questions are easy to answer and some others take a longer time to figure out the answer. Therefore,you must be very quick when answering the questions because 90 minutes might not be enough to complete the tasks. Note that you are not expected to be an expert. Really, this is an entry level exam so you are not expected to be a pro. However, you need to know the basic concepts in each of the topics under the course. As earlier mentioned, the topics cover a wide range of areas in networking and you need to know the basics.


Take a deep breath! It is not as difficult as it sounds. There are many people that have sat for this exam and have gotten their certifications. So you can do it. All you need is to be adequately prepared and do your best during the examination. You can gather some possible past questions idea online and practice in preparation for your exam. It is important to reiterate the fact that the CCENT is the entry level point in Cisco certification. As you move on in your career in IT, it is important that you get more Cisco certifications for your career growth.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.