Safaricom partners with Lake Region counties to accelerate use of technology in public service delivery

As part of its ongoing efforts to promote digital transformation at county level, Safaricom has entered into a partnership with the Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB) to implement various initiatives aimed at accelerating the region’s adoption of technology.

The initiatives which will be implemented under myCounty App will include digitising the counties, enabling solutions, provision of protected technology and transforming lives through Safaricom’s Social Good Investments in LREB counties.

Specifically, Safaricom will provide connectivity for county sites, bridge the citizen digital divide, actualise the digital superhighway through fibre connectivity, offer revenue and healthcare management, public Wi-Fi, eSubsidy (or vouchers) for services, secure employee communication, safeguard citizen data and offer cyber security to the 14 counties within the LREB region.

“We cannot achieve our vision to be a purpose-led technology company by 2025 without deliberate and strategic collaboration with both the county and national government. This partnership with the LREB signifies a clear intention on our part to co-create with the county governments to digitise devolution,” said Lucille Aveva, Director of Customer Obsession, Safaricom.

The county government of Makueni has already adopted the myCounty app while Elgeyo Marakwet and Nairobi counties have signed a deal with Safaricom to integrate the App. myCounty App is a digital platform that will enable all 47counties to digitise their services and operations through a single, citizen access channel. The platform will ease public access to county services such as payment of parking, single business permits, among others.

“LREB welcomes the opportunity to partner with Safaricom in a bid to bring technology solutions closer home. Technology continues to play a significant role in achieving a functional devolved government. We are hopeful that our people will soon begin to reap the fruits of this agreement and unlock the economic potential of our counties,” said Prof. Anyang’ Nyong’o, Chair of LREB and Governor of Kisumu County.

The 14 counties constituting the Lake Region bloc include Bomet, Bungoma, Busia, Homa Bay, Kakamega, Kericho, Kisii, Kisumu, Migori, Nandi, Nyamira, Siaya, Trans Nzoia and Vihiga. 

The Lake Region is one of the most densely populated regions of Kenya with 14.9 million people who constitute about 31.4 percent of the population in Kenya. 


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.